Estamos Trio - Dire Warning


Carmina Escobar - voice, sound toys, and guitarrón
Milo Tamez - home percussions, stones, branches, electronics
Thollem McDonas - synthesizer, vocals, clay pot

Estamos Trio is an exploratory music ensemble formed through the cross-border Estamos Project founded by Thollem McDonas in 2010. The trio includes Carmina Escobar (vocals, electronics, guitarrón), Milo Tamez (percussion, found objects, electronics) and Thollem (keyboard, vocals, clay pot). Recorded live at SITE Santa Fe, Dire Warning is the trio's 2nd album following Relative Pitch's release, People's Historia, in 2013. The work is a commission for SITE's 2018 biennial "Casa Tomada" (House Taken Over), which informed the trio's approach to this album: the present and impending global migration of humans caused by climate change.

Carmina Escobar is a performer, improviser, sound and intermedia artist from Mexico City. Her work focuses primarily on sound, the voice, the body, and their interrelations to physical, social, memory and present spaces. Mexican creative drummer/composer and independent artist Milo Tamez specializes in solo extended-prepared drum set percussion. He has produced compositions exploring new percussive poetics, cinematic experiences and tour de force drumming manifestos. Tamez also has collaborated with composers premiering new music works for solo drum set percussion. Thollem is a pianist, keyboardist, composer, improviser, singer-songwriter, activist, author and teacher. He's spent his life in perpetual motion, collaborating within scores of arts communities with hundreds of artists. His work is ever changing, evolving and responding to the times and his experiences.

More information -

Upcoming Gigs

December 19th
Red Room (Baltimore, MD)

December 20th
Fire Museum Presents at Vox Populi (Philadelphia, PA)

December 21st
Rhizome (DC)
with Jim Ryan's DC Current

December 22nd
Barrio Artspace (New York, NY)
Triple album release concert
Estamos Trio Dire Warning, Radical Empathy Trio Reality and Other Imaginary Places (with Michael Wimberly and Nels Cline on ESP-disk), plus William Parker.

Release date - December 22, 2019

Release number: RPR1101